7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2010 7:27 PM by Dave Knarr

Hard Drives and video card for new CS5 system

Bill Strehl

I've read through much of the threads in the hardware forums and find I still have questions.  I am just beginning to learn how to edit and it is not a source of income for me at the moment.  My sources will be from tapes from my Canon HV20 and at some point either a Panasonic GH2, Canon 60D or similar.

I have bought the following:

ASUS P6X58D-E motherboard

24 GB of Patriot Sector 7 DDR3 1333MHz memory (9-9-9-24)

Intel i7-950 3.06 GHz CPU

I plan to use Cineform NEO or maybe NEO HD to ingest my files.

I also have 4 Seagate 750GB 7200.11 hard drives I can use.

It seems like the best bang for the buck for a video card is a GTS 450 at about $100 because I can't find any data that indicates a GTX 460 or a GTX 570 would make any difference (see http://www.studio1productions.com/Articles/PremiereCS5.htm)

As far as hard drives goes, Harm's article on creating separate storage makes sense to me.  It seems like I could create a "4 drive" system quite easily (see http://forums.adobe.com/thread/662972).  Given that I am not ready to spend moeny on an Areca card until I can develop my skills,  I am wondering if I should get one of the new WD Velociraptor 600GB (SATA 6) drives as my system drive for about $280, a 150 GB (SATA 3) Velociraptor drive for about $100, or some other fast drive.

Given that my motherboard can support RAID, should I consider RAIDing the "D" drive or the "E and F" drives?

Is there any value to using an SSD drive for the "E" drive (page file and media cache) [see http://forums.adobe.com/thread/662972]?  Microcenter has a 64GB drive for $100.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Hard Drives and video card for new CS5 system
          Harm Millaard Level 7
          I also have 4 Seagate 750GB 7200.11 hard drives I can use.