8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2010 8:51 PM by unique_screenname_here

Converting shaders from other programs?

laserpilot

I'm just getting started with Pixel bender, but I've played around with fairly simplified GLSL Shaders in Max/MSP and Quartz Composer before. I'm trying to convert this one shader for use in after effects, but I'm a bit stuck on converting some of the variable types and things like that. I'm also not sure if the effect is even possible to recreate in after effects because it requires a sort of feedback loop when I use it in Max/MSP. The effect basically creates video trails off of bright elements in the scene. Here is the code as it appears for the max/msp fragment shader. If anyone has some hints of whether it looks possible, let me know

uniform float slide_up;
      uniform float slide_down;

varying vec2 texcoord0;
      varying vec2 texcoord1;

uniform sampler2DRect tex0;
      uniform sampler2DRect tex1;

void main(void)
      {
          vec4 su, sd, up, down, amount;

// sample inputs at texcoords
          vec4 input0 = texture2DRect(tex0, texcoord0);
          vec4 input1 = texture2DRect(tex1, texcoord1);

// get contribution
          amount.x = input0.x > input1.x ? 1.0 : 0.0;
          amount.y = input0.y > input1.y ? 1.0 : 0.0;
          amount.z = input0.z > input1.z ? 1.0 : 0.0;
          amount.w = input0.w > input1.w ? 1.0 : 0.0;

// calculate slide down
          float d = max(1.0, abs(slide_down));
          sd = vec4(1.0 / d);
          down = input1 + ((input0 - input1) * sd);

// calculate slide up
          float u = max(1.0, abs(slide_up));
          su = vec4(1.0 / u);
          up = input1 + ((input0 - input1) * su);

// mix between down and up
          gl_FragColor = mix(down, up, amount);
      }

• 1. Re: Converting shaders from other programs?
          laserpilot Level 1