12 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2006 11:02 AM by nickle11

how to re-size buttons in png file

fuddleduddle
      I'm fairly new to Fireworks, just started today actually. I have a png file with 4 buttons I created using the Import a Button feature and picked on of the buttons styles offered.

I have my text in, haven't put in links yet until I get this problem sorted out, but I want to reduce the size of the buttons while retaining the original size of the text. When I resize the button currently, it also squeezes the text size.

Thanks very much for any solutions you can offer.
        • 1. Re: how to re-size buttons in png file
          fuddleduddle Level 1
          Drats, no replies as yet. Maybe I could simplify the probem. I created 4 buttons using Edit | Insert| New Symbol and chose the second 3 stage blue button. I changed the text on all 4 buttons, left aligned but I want to reduce the button size to just encompass the text, so not alot of blank space on the right.
          I can't seem to get it right without then scrunching up the text and distorting it. How can I get it right? Thanks
          • 2. Re: how to re-size buttons in png file
            Level 7
            fuddleduddle wrote:

> I can't seem to get it right without then scrunching up the text and
            > distorting it. How can I get it right?

You have to open the button in the button editor to change its shape.

--
            Linda Rathgeber [PVII] *Adobe Community Expert-Fireworks*
            --------------------------------------------------------------
            http://www.projectseven.com
            Fireworks Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/fireworks/
            CSS Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/css/
            Design Aid Kits: http://www.webdevbiz.com/pwf/index.cfm
            --------------------------------------------------------------
            • 3. how to re-size buttons in png file
              fuddleduddle Level 1