12 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2010 8:11 PM by Pye Jirsa

Hardware for Pro Video and Photo Workstation - Need Your Advice!

Pye Jirsa Level 1

I am trying to buy a high-end video and photo editing workstation and I am really stumped as to the amount of options, yet the lack of advice available in this arena.

I am a professional photographer starting to do more and more professional video work. However, it seems like video is much more demanding than still photo production, so I am sure whatever works well for video will work amazingly well for stills. So, let's focus on video.

We shoot our video primarily on Canon 7D and 5D Mark II cameras in full 1080p. My issue so far has basically been that once I have added 2-3 video tracks, some transitions, an effect or two and a stability plugin (like prodad mercali) to my timeline, I can no longer see my preview in real time as it is constantly stuttering while the audio plays straight through making it difficult and time consuming to finish full projects.

So, the goal is to create a machine that can render previews real time, without going overboard and just buying overkill. I can't seem to find any articles on what I actually need to accomplish this goal. So, I am looking to all of you pros for help.

For the new machine, we will be upgrading to CS5, so here is what I am looking for:

Budget: $5000 or lower (Lower the better, no overkill)

1) Mobility - I either need a powerful workstation laptop that does it all, or I will need a powerful workstation desktop, with a decently powerful laptop for working on the go.

2) Real Time Previewing - Ability to add multiple video/audio layers, video effects, and plugin effects while being able to still watch the preview in real time (no stuttering)

3) Fairly Quick Rendering - Quick, but it doesn't need to be lightning fast