1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 11, 2007 1:59 PM by big4head

The Phantom of the Operator

big4head
      I am a relative Flex newbie with a Flash/DHTML background. I have created a List. Its itemRenderer is a custom component and the DataProvider is an ArrayCollection. The List supports Drag and Drop to reorder components and each component in the List has a "close" button to remove itself from the List. My question has to do with the (seemingly) unpredictable behavior of the itemRenderer in the above situations.

1. Drag Drop: I have dragEnabled, dragMoveEnabled and dropEnabled all set to true in the List. Upon the completion of a drop however, it seems as if there is a "phantom" List item that is created. For example, say I have 3 components in the List labeled 1, 2 and 3. When I drag drop component 3 between 1 and 2 I will see them ordered 1-3-2. However if I then drag drop component 2 between 1 and 3 they are ordered 1-3-3 - a new component 3 is created and 2 is hidden. I say 2 is hidden for if I again drag drop the last component (labeled 3) between the first and second components (labeled 1 and 3) the components are now once again ordered 1-2-3, with the second component labeled 3 now hidden!

2 Closing: I have learned about the capricious nature of itemRenderers so that the close button on the List components removes only that instance from the dataProvider and the itemRenderer properly updates the List, at least in what is physically displayed. However I am again presented with the existence of a phantom or hidden list item as when I add a new item to the list the old items are re-added to the List display. To illustrate using the above example. if I delete Item 2 in my 1-2-3 configuration above, it will be removed from the display, but adding a new component (supposedly blank) below it will re-add the component labeled 2 to the List. Furthermore, if I again add a new component my phantom duplicate component 3 will return!