9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2010 6:26 AM by Dolfan24

Making a value appear

Dolfan24

Hello,

I'm new to scripting in Acrobat.  I've been doing it a total of about 45 minutes.  I need a little help.

I'm creating a survey with multiple choice radio buttons.  The answers to these buttons generate a point value.  The total point value of all the questions is displayed as a sum.  Easy enough.

I also have a page with what looks like a table (but isn't, its rows and columns of fields).  I have four columns and 28 rows.

Each column represents a series of questions as mentioned above.  The rows represent the possible total score of those questions.

Example - There are seven questions.  The possible answers will generate a value of 0 to 4.  The sum of all the answers then can be from 0 - 28.

The "table" has the 28 rows, labeled 28 at the top down to zero at the bottom, representing each possible score.

What I need to do is have the total score for that series of questions appear as the score in the appropriate field.  So if the total score is 16, then I need the number 16 to appear in the 16th row, and nothing else appear in the other 27 rows.

So with absolutely no knowledge of scripting, my best guess at this would be,

if (fieldname16 = 16)

then print 16

else null

Was I even close? LOL

I'm assuming it's a very simple script. I've tried searching bing/google.. I've watched a few videos on Lynda.com... I've looked at various Adobe resources but to no avail.  I'm hoping someone can help me relatively easily.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Making a value appear
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Have you looked at the MDN JavaScript Reference and the Acrobat JS API Reference?

JavaScript is object orientated, so one needs to establish a link to the object and then access a property or method for that object.

Do you know how to create exclusionary groups of radio buttons or check boxes?