5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2010 7:02 AM by FrankB62

Problems with accessing all text in a document

FrankB62 Level 1

I am having huge problems with accessing all text within a document using VBScript. I am fairly new to InDesign, and it is quite possible that I am doing things the wrong way, so any advice is much welcome.

I have a document originally created in FrameMaker, and converted to InDesign via some 3rd party software (I don't know which). The document has then been handled manually in InDesign afterwards, and pages have been added, edited and deleted.

Now, my task is to traverse through all tekst in the document, and do some modifications via a script, but I can't get it to treat all text in the document. To try and isolate the problem, I made some scripts that simply deletes all text in the document (the document has 228 pages in total).

Here are some snippets of code:

A (this code clears all text from page 1 to 47, the rest is left untouched)

For Each Story In Document.Stories

Story.Contents = ""

Next

B (this code clears all text from page 1 to 51)

For Each TextFrame In Document.TextFrames

TextFrame.Contents = ""

Next

C (this code clears all text from page 1 to 78)

For Each Spread In Document.Spreads

For Each TextFrame In Spread.TextFrames

TextFrame.Contents = ""

Next

Next

I don't know of other ways than theese to access all text, and apparently neither of them work. I am especially puzzled about the difference between case B and C, because how can a spread within a document contain text frames which the document itself does not contain?

Does anyone know of a method to traverse through a document, and be 100% sure that all text is included?

• 1. Re: Problems with accessing all text in a document
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant