4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 17, 2010 3:07 AM by mspsc

Adding a reflection to a video in Premiere Elements 9 trial

mspsc Level 1

Hi there, please could anyone help me?

I am trying to add a refelection to a video in Premiere Elements 9 trail version, but so far, all I have been able to do is create a mirror.  This works fine, but I would like it faded out slightly and then faded in to the background.

Does anyone know if I can do this in the trail version, or is it possible in the full version of Premiere Elements 9?  I'm new to video editing and have run out of ideas where to look, as google doesn't seem to have any suggestions.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Adding a reflection to a video in Premiere Elements 9 trial
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

You can not create a "ramped" reflection in Premiere Elements. Sorry. At least not without some very complicated work with the Track Matte.

• 2. Re: Adding a reflection to a video in Premiere Elements 9 trial
            nealeh Level 5

Is it something that you could do with a series of still images using a transition from one to another? If so you might want to take a look at this Adobe TV tutorial: Creating reflections with Guided Edit

Cheers,
            --
            Neale
            Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 3. Re: Adding a reflection to a video in Premiere Elements 9 trial
              the_wine_snob Level 9

I would explore using PiP (Picture in Picture), with a manipulated (likely something like Mirror) duplicate of your original Clip. Then, you can adjust its Opacity down, and likely use a few other Effects, like Corner Pin, and maybe even Ripple, depending on the surface that is reflecting. Last, you can possible use the Garbage Matte, or, as Steve mentions, Track Matte Keying to eliminate everything from that duplicate Clip, except the "reflection."