5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2010 12:53 PM by John T Smith

Stop Pre 9 consistantly crashing during Preview...

RayJoCal

I am a little new to video editing so please bear with me if I don't give all the information needed to solve this problem on the first try.  I got Pre 9 about a week ago and have not been able to go a single editing session withiout multiple crashes.  I either recieve the "Sorry, serious error, trying to save your work" message or the Windows 7 "this program has stopped unexpectedly" message everytime I try to preview my project in the Moniter window. It might play one or two scenes, but never makes it through the 40 second movie I currently have.  The project is a DV NTSC with a mix of mostly still images and one mpeg-2 clip, very rarely makes it to the clip so I don't think that is the problem. I am using a Windows 7 Desktop with Extended Desktop.  I have 8gb DRAM, Intel i5 CPU, Intel HD Graphics chip, and a 1TB hard drive with a 500GB Data partition.  I do have Norton Internet Security, but I have disabled it entirely each time I tried to use Pre.  I tried disabling the extended desktop, but that didn't change anything.  I tried turning off the sound just in case the Realtek HD Audio was the problem, no such luck.  I have all unessesary processes stopped.  I tried deleting the Data partition, but it didn't make a bit of difference.  I know everybody recommends having two hard drives, but that just isn't possible for me at this time.  I am really pulling my hair out on this thing.  I've resorted to burning the project to a DVD+RW and just watching that to see how the project is progressing.  It does get a little old after a while to have to burn a disc each time I want to see if I am editing the timeline correctly.  Any suggestions as to a solution would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Stop Pre 9 consistantly crashing during Preview...
          the_wine_snob Level 9