3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 2, 2007 12:05 PM by Greg Dove

FLV Playback - Browser Compatibility

alpedroza
      Just to get this out of the way, I'm an Actionscript newbie. So if my code is way off base, please advise.

I am one of the webmasters for RaceLegal.com. We just updated the whole web site and the client (RaceLegal) wanted to add video with commercial adverts. I developed a video player that randomly selects a commercial from a pool of commercials using ASP and then plays the user selected video. You can see the result (beta) on the web site itself.

Out of the 700+ views so far, I have received a couple reports of not being able to view the video. In one instance, the person can load the swf (the "please wait" text in the swf shows at the bottom), but the flv never plays. This person was using a Mac with Safari, but I do have two reports of IE on PCs not being able to view the video as well. I have tested on three of my computers using IE, Firefox and Safari, all windows versions, and the video plays fine. I've also tested from several IP addresses using a laptop. The people having trouble can pull up Youtube videos fine. The mac person also had the latest Flash player installed.

Is there something wrong with my code? Maybe some browser compatibility issue? Any help would be greatly appreciated. (I've changed some of the variable names, filenames and paths for obvious reasons but the idea is the same)

• 1. Re: FLV Playback - Browser Compatibility
          Greg Dove Level 4
          Using FLVPlayback implies at a minimum that its flash player 8 that is required. That might still leave some (a small percentage of) people unable to play it... they would need to upgrade their flash player. I just tried the site with flash player 7 in firefox and the video didn't play (but audio did!). But players 8 & 9 worked fine. YouTube works with flash player 7+ which would account for some of the discrepancies.