6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2011 9:19 AM by rtalton

Flex 3 Passing Event Info via Metadata

FishermanWilly

As an opener, I am a complete new Flex user and a total novice.  This is my first crack at it and first post.  Now my problem, I am modifying and updating some existing Flex 3 code using the SDK.  I have completed all updates save one, The Alert messages HAVE NEVER WORKED, so I am trying to get those working.

The application uses a parent mxml file, FileUploadApp.mxml which sets the stage and a canvas.
      That file uses a subordinate mxml file, FileUpload.mxml does all the work and places items on the canvas.

FileUpload.swf is created, then included in FileUploadApp.swf.  Everything works except the Alert messages.  Communication from FileUploadApp.swf is as two fold:

1) variables and constants are defined in FileUploadApp and used by FileUpload.
      2) evemts are defined in FileUpload and passed back to FileUploadApp via metadata.  All events are being passed back except button/mouse events.

FileUploadApp code:

<mx:Canvas width="400" height="300" horizontalCenter="0" verticalCenter="0">
      <com:FileUpload
        width="100%" height="100%"
        uploadUrl="{_strUploadScript}"
        uploadComplete="Alert.show('File(s) have been uploaded.', 'Upload successful')"
        uploadIOError="Alert.show('IO Error in uploading file.', 'Error')"
        uploadHTTPError="Alert.show('Upload Server Connection Lost.', 'Upload Failure')"
        uploadSecurityError="Alert.show('Security Error in uploading file.', 'Error')"
        btnCancel="Alert.show('You have canceled this upload.', 'Upload Cancled')"/>
      </mx:Canvas>

FileUpload code:

<mx:Metadata>
      [Event(name="uploadComplete", type="flash.events.Event")]
      [Event(name="uploadProgress", type="flash.events.ProgressEvent")]
      [Event(name="uploadCancel", type="flash.events.Event")]
      [Event(name="uploadIOError", type="flash.events.IOErrorEvent")]