6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2011 1:46 PM by PuuhaJimi

Audio popping after burning blu-ray in 5.1

Mag2124

Just as a disclaimer, I am fairly new to Adobe Premiere and I am running Premiere Elements 8 on a Sony Vaio with an Intel Core i5-580M processor, ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 GPU, 8GB DDR3-SDRAM-1066 and Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit.

I am attempting to create blu-ray disks in full HD and 5.1 surround sound. Source video is full HD 1920x1080 with .M2TS extension. When I have Adobe Premiere Elements 8 check the properties for my videos, it says the source audio format is "48,000Hz - compressed - 6 channels" and the project audio format is "48,000Hz - 32 bit floating point - 6 channels". This is despite the fact that the source should be 5.1. However when editing videos "5.1" shows up next to audio 1 on the timeline. I read something about this issue and I assume this isn't the cause for any poor audio after a blu-ray burn.

I create new projects using these settings:

NTSC-AVCHD-Full HD 1080i 30 5.1 Channel

After some quick editing I burn a blu-ray disk with the H.264 1920x1080i NTSC Dolby preset. When checking the quality of the burn the video looks great, but audio has a distinct popping or crackling occasionally that is not in the source files at all. Anyone have any ideas why a burn causes these audio blemishes to show up? I have never had any issues with 2 channel burns and I will probably just end up sticking with 2 channel audio if a solution can't be discovered. Also of note, the audio output is much lower from the burned copy than it is when played back from the source file. This will happen even when the clip volume is set to the max of +6.0dB. Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Audio popping after burning blu-ray in 5.1
          the_wine_snob Level 9