3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2010 11:16 AM by kglad

gotoAndPlay nested movie clip in class.

KerShmuckit

Hi guys. Im relatively new to AS3 and im currently making a shooting game.

I have a class controlling all my targets, I want to play a death scene for each target when they get shot. My targets involve several nested movie clips, I want to put the death scene on the second level of my targets nested clips.

What code do I use to tell flash to go to the second level in my targets and play there?

Here is my class code in it's entirety. I have highlighted the part thats currently playing my targets.

package {
      import flash.display.MovieClip;
      import flash.events.Event;
      import flash.events.MouseEvent;
      import flash.media.Sound;

public class SquaresClass extends MovieClip
      {
      function SquaresClass()
      {
      this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, frameUpdate);
      this.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, shootMe);
      }

function frameUpdate(e:Event)
      {

if(this.currentFrame == 1)
      {
      if(Math.random() < 0.02)
      this.gotoAndPlay(2);

}

}

function shootMe(e:MouseEvent)
      {

gotoAndPlay(40);

}

}
      }

I've done a bit of reading but because im still a beginner alot of it was hard for me to understand. Something about using addFramescript?

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: gotoAndPlay nested movie clip in class.
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

there is no second "level" in a movieclip.

you have a movieclip that has a child movieclip and that child movieclip (eg, child_mc) has a child movieclip (eg, grandchild_mc) that you want to control?  if yes, assign instance names to the children and use dot-notation:

child_mc.grandchild_mc.gotoAndPlay(40)

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: gotoAndPlay nested movie clip in class.
            KerShmuckit Level 1