5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2010 2:34 AM by nealeh

PE 7  Can't burn to blu-ray

OregonWebfoot Level 1

First, I'm not very good at searching on this forum so this issue may have already been addressed several times.

Have been using PE for some time but recently get myself a blu-ray burner and I'm trying to burn a blu-ray disc without success.  Video I'm using have min editing done to it, mostly scene markers and an intro still.  When I go to share, the prgm sees both my DVD burner and the Blu-ray burner.  When I select blu-ray up pops the correct drive.  The prgm can tell the difference between the burner being empty and having a disc inserted.  When I select burn all appears to go well (other than time it takes to encode) until we've reached the point of actually writing to the drive.  Almost instantly things come to a halt with displayed message "device error".  Now seem to be dead in the water so to speak as I can't do anything other than cancel the burn.  Have tried using H.264 and MP2 encoding but has made no difference.  Hrs of encoding lost so to speak so trying different things really becomes time consuming.  Prgm doesn't give me any problems burning to SD DVD.  Latest firmware installed for the burner.  Can play a commercial blu-ray disc using the software that came with the drive (cyberlink blu-ray suite) Using this SW I've burnt a blu-ray data disc without any problems.  OS (Xp sp3) using manage disk drives, (computer management/storage/disk management) when a disk is inserted, the BR drive shows up, reports the drive is healthy and disk is blank.  Right now I'm lost as to how to proceed and determine what is causing the problem.  Any suggestions?  Boy, am I lost on knowing how to use this BB software. Please excuse the formating errors. No preview?

• 1. Re: PE 7  Can't burn to blu-ray
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional