3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2007 5:33 AM by JKohn99

Refferencing  ResourseBundle Externaly at Runtime

levancho Level 3
      Currently I use resourseBundle following way
      [ResourceBundle("npd")]
      private static var rb:ResourceBundle;

but it gets embedded inside compiled swf,
      what I am looking for is the way to reference properties file in flex application as external resource at runtime so I can change some values in properties file and dont have to recompile the flex project.
      How would I achived that?
        • 1. Refferencing  ResourseBundle Externaly at Runtime
          cheftimo Level 2
          levancho:

Here is an example that shows something similar to what you are talking about:
          http://jeff.mxdj.com/internationalizing_flex_2_apps_pt_2.htm
          I played with this for months, but ran into problems because I couldn’t make it work with custom components. But I am not an advanced programmer; you may be able to figure out how to make it work.

Also, you may want to look at Flex 3, which has a new ResourceManager and a lot more support for language/locale switching at runtime.

However, I said similar because in both of the above, you have to compile something: either the whole application, or, in Flex 3, you can compile and use separate resource modules (SWFs) which can be called at runtime.

I have done what you want, using ColdFusion (Remote Object). In that case, any changes you make in ‘.properties’ files will show up in your app. But that is a whole new ball game.

If you work out the problem, please post here.

Regards,

Carlos
          • 3. Re: Refferencing  ResourseBundle Externaly at Runtime
            JKohn99 Level 1
            We used a slightly different approach to allow dynamic language switching given that Flex 2 uses a static approach. Actually our solution was designed in Flex 1.5.