10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2011 12:13 PM by Steve Grisetti

SD video getting exported at HD size with black borders

gregmetrovan

This is my first time using PRE (version 9), so please be gentle...

I did a capture of some SD video from my old camera through my Hauppauge HD PVR to MP4. Looks good in Windows Media Player, no black borders.

Import into Premier Elements 9 to do my editing, all good, no black borders in the editing window or preview window..

But when I'm done and burn to DVD or export to any format (MP4, FLV, AVI) or upload to YouTube (just to try it), the video is widescreen but the picture appears smaller than 480 and there are black borders around all sides.

It wouldn't be SO bad if there were just black borders on the left and right sides, but they're all the way around, and this shrinks the actual image.

I'm sure this is some basic setting somewhere in PRE, but I can't seem to find it to make a difference.

Can someone please help? Thank you so much.

Greg

• 1. Re: SD video getting exported at HD size with black borders
          Stavros F. Level 1

Lets start with the basic settings: Do you keep the same aspect ratio for input and output? I mean:

if your footage is 4:3 do you make a project that is 4:3?

If your footage is 16:9 do you make a project that is 16:9?

• 2. Re: SD video getting exported at HD size with black borders
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to PrE and to the forum,

So, you are starting with SD material, up-rezzing it to HD, and then down-rezzing it again for Export/Share. Is that correct?

The up-rezzing and down-rezzing will be causing several issues with regard to quality, and my guess is that those operations might also be causing issue with the PAR (Pixel Aspect Ratio).

Now, when one gets black borders, there is usually a mis-match between the source footage and the Project Preset.

Let's start with the source material: what are the dimensions and full specs. of those converted HD files?