9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2011 8:35 AM by Navarro Parker

Premiere Pro CS5 takes up to 40 minutes to start up

SpeedRacer19

Hi everybody,

I am having issues with our copy of Premiere Pro CS5 - as I mentioned above, it can take up to 40 minutes, or longer, for it to create a new or load a previous project. I work at a school and we have a computer lab with 30 iMacs, running OS X 10.6.5, with the Adobe CS5 Master Collection installed on all of them. We also have a Mac server (Mac Mini) that runs Open Directory, which is used for authentication.

The issue only occurs when a networked user logs on - when I log in with a local user account, everything runs fine. I know this has to be some kind of permissions issue, I just do not know exactly what to look for, as I am a bit of a noob when it comes to Adobe, or Apple products, for that matter. I have been looking for a solution for quite a while - I reinstalled Premiere, Googled, and looked on the forums, all with no luck. I found similar posts, but they were not exactly like mine. I would really appreciate any help that I can get on this matter. Thank you.

Regards,

Nikita

P.S: the firewall is off on all of the computers.

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro CS5 takes up to 40 minutes to start up
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>when I log in with a local user account, everything runs fine

Designed for local use, not on a network... as you have seen... simply run in local mode

• 2. Re: Premiere Pro CS5 takes up to 40 minutes to start up
            SpeedRacer19 Level 1

We did consider it, but only as the last resort, since it does not give us the same flexibility. This way the users can save their work on the server, instead of locally.

• 4. Re: Premiere Pro CS5 takes up to 40 minutes to start up
              SpeedRacer19 Level 1