4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 30, 2010 8:19 PM by JJMack

need help with a basic script to resize image then resize the canvas

bfox2718 Level 1

I am new to photoshop scripting, and have come across a need to force an image to be 8"x10" at 300dpi (whether it is vertical or horizontal)

I need to maintain the correct orientation in the file, so an Action will not work, I believe I have to implement a script to accomplish this.

I have the below script so far, but I am not certain of how to input the variables / paramters

doc = app.activeDocument;
      if (doc.height > doc.width) doc.resizeImage("2400 pixels","3600 pixels", "300", "BICUBIC");
      if (doc.height > doc.width) doc.resizeCanvas("2400 pixels","3000 pixels", "MIDDLECENTER");

if (doc.height < doc.width) doc.resizeImage("3600 pixels","2400 pixels",300,"BICUBIC");
      if (doc.height < doc.width) doc.resizeCanvas(3000,2400,"MIDDLECENTER");

When I run this script, I get the following error:

Error 1245: Illegal argument - argument 4

- Enumerated value expected

Line: 5

if (doc.height < doc.width) doc.resizeImage("3600 pixels","2400 pixels",300,"BICUBIC");

error.jpg

The fact that its failing on lien 5 lets nme know that I have the "If" portions of my script correct, I just dont know how to accomplish the functions correctly.

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Brian

• 1. Re: need help with a basic script to resize image then resize the canvas
          Paul Riggott Level 6

This should be close...

#target photoshop
          main();
          function main(){
          if(!documents.length) return;
          if(doc.height > doc.width){
           doc.resizeImage(UnitValue(3600, "px"), undefined, 300, ResampleMethod.BICUBIC);
           doc.resizeCanvas(new UnitValue(2400,'px'),new UnitValue(3000,'px'), AnchorPosition.MIDDLECENTER);
           }else{
                doc.resizeImage(undefined, UnitValue(3600, "px"), 300, ResampleMethod.BICUBIC);