4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2007 11:26 AM by ntsiii

Datagrid Selection to Chart

rcwhitejr
      Hi everyone,
      I am a little stuck on some flex code. This is my first time coding flex so bear with me. I am importing an xml file from ruby on rails and i want the following to happen. A data grid is available and when you choose a selection on the datagrid, the line chart displays data for only that selection. This is my code. I am getting a null pointer when i try to create the new xmlList

CODE
      <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" layout="absolute" creationComplete="getCampaigns.send(),listCampData.send()">

<mx:Script>
      <![CDATA[
      import mx.rpc.events.ResultEvent;

public function listCampaigns():void {

getCampaigns.send();
      listCampData.send();
      }
      var xmlList:XMLList = new XMLList(listCampData.send());
      var tempXml:XML;
      public function listCampaignsXML(campaign:String):void {
      for each ( var cam:XML in xmlList.campdates)
      {
      if(cam.(campaign-name == campaign)) {
      tempXml.appendChild(cam)
      }

}
      }

]]>
      </mx:Script>

<mx:HTTPService id="listCampData" url=" http://localhost:3000/campdates/xmlList" useProxy="false" method="POST"/>
      <mx:HTTPService id="getCampaigns" url=" http://localhost:3000/campaigns/xmlList" useProxy="false" method="POST"/>
      <mx:XMLListCollection id="campData"
      source="{XMLList(listCampData.lastResult.children())}"/>

<mx:ApplicationControlBar x="0" y="0" width="679" height="409">
      <mx:LineChart id="CTR" width="558" dataProvider="tempXml">
      <mx:series>
      <mx:LineSeries displayName="CTR" yField="ctr"/>
      </mx:series>
      </mx:LineChart>
      <mx:Legend dataProvider="{CTR}"/>
      </mx:ApplicationControlBar>
      <mx:Accordion x="678" y="0" width="337" height="219">
      <mx:Canvas label="Campaign" width="100%" height="100%">