6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 31, 2010 11:56 AM by Mark233

Editing video from HD PVR with Premiere Elements 9

Mark233

I have a Hauppage HD PVR with which I record footage from my Xbox 360. I'm pretty sure my TV isnt HD, so when the video comes back to my computer, I don't think its in HD either, but still very good quality. When I playback this footage from my PVR, it looks great, quality is near perfect. However, when I import this video on to Premiere Elements 9 for editing, it is very low quality and blurry. I've tried changing it to "AVCHD" and "H264 AVI" using a media converter, but it is still nowhere near the quality I get when I play back the raw footage from my PVR using Windows Media Player..

When I click on the files for info in My Videos folder, it says they are MP4, but I heard something about the Hauppage Recording in .m2ts or something?

I'm really new to this sort of stuff, so if someone could help me with this it would be really appreciated. I'd be more than happy to provide more information if it is needed, just let me know. Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Editing video from HD PVR with Premiere Elements 9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

According to the product's spec page, you must capture your video as 1080i60 in order for it to work with it in Premiere Elements.

Unfortunately the spec page doesn't say whether it's 1920x1080 or 1440x1080, so you're goingto have to experiment with your project presets. When you start up a project, select one of the AVCHD project presets. If it doesn't work, try another.

The indicator that you've selected the right project settings is that, when you put the clips on your timeline, there will be no red lines above them.

As long as you get a red line above your clips, you're going to get compromised quality. When you see no red lines above your clips, you are editing the file natively.