10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2011 6:46 PM by kglad

Actions list weird, can't find basic things.

Bowserstein Level 1

Hello,

[Quick intro: This is my first time on the site so hello! My name is Jason, I'm an artist, graphic designer, and animator, and I use most Adobe products in creating my artwork and videos.]

So, here is my problem. I used to use drag and drop stuff to create websites and just recently got into using Flash and Dreamweaver. I am using the CS3 versions of both of these programs. What I'm trying to do now is make an animated button that's also a link to another page on my site. I was able to make the button in Flash with an up state, animated over state, down, hit and all. My problems are as follows:

1. It's a link on my index page and I'm trying to make it link to my main page where there's the menu and links to the rest of the site... but I don't know how to make the button a clickable link. I've searched for tutorials and guides online, and it seems I have to do a getURL action on it, but I'm not sure that I'm doing it right (I'm copy and pasting examples and switching in my own link): it ends up looking like this:

on(release)
      {
      getURL("http://www.example.com", "_blank");
      }

I'm not familiar with the code, but it seems simple enough. Anyway, I'm trying this with just basic links to standard websites, and I can't seem to get it to work.

2. A major problem I have is with creating the actions themselves. My menu for selecting the actions is weird; I see on all these tutorials that there's are menus that you can select it like this:

example a.gif

Though, my menu for actions looks like this:

example b.gif

Tons and tons of fl.something things... I can't find any of these getURL menus, or anything like that.