5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 12, 2011 11:57 AM by Richard Perrett

Converting Burrito Flex Mobile App to Desktop

Richard Perrett

Hi Guys!  Have just developed an app for Android using Burrito.  It works nicely on a phone but it is also great as a little 'widget like' desktop app.

Is there any way to package it so that it may be distributed as an Air app that runs exactly like it does when run in emulation mode (adl) from Flash Builder?  If not, what is the simplest path to convert the <mobileApplication> to a <windowedApplication>?

Thanks,

Richard

Update:  Surprised no one has answered this.  I am new to Flash Builder and I figured you guys would know.  Have been looking at viewstacks in standard Air apps and trying to figure how to use this to achieve the same effect as a mobile app.  Looks like quite a lot of work to rewrite the app to Air on the Desktop ... is there an easier route .... anyone?

• 1. Re: Converting Burrito Flex Mobile App to Desktop
          ghess01-vU69wO

Hi Richard,

I would also like to deploy my mobile application to the desktop, did you figure out how to do it?

Thanks,

Greg

• 2. Re: Converting Burrito Flex Mobile App to Desktop
            Richard Perrett Level 1

Greg,

I have come up will a solution but it is not that quick to implement as there seems to be no automated migration route.  I had to go and learn about 'classic' air apps and create one.  I then used the air viewstack concept to replace the views in my mobile app. Essentially I ended up with a header panel with a set of views on a stack below this that corresponds to the action bar and views in the mobile app. 

Points to note:  If you want the run the app at about the same physical size as on you phone you with have to reduce the window size of you air app compared with the phone as the pixel density is greater on the phone. For graphics to render nicely this will mean some managed scaling of images.

Hope this is useful

Richard