5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2011 11:29 AM by Michael L Hale

merging alpha masks

oscar060384

Hi,

I have about 10 layers that I want to merge together.  Each layer has its own individual alpha mask that doesn't overlap each other.  I was wondering if it's possible to merge all the layers onto one while preserving an alpha that encompasses all 10 alpha masks as well.

Thanks. 

• 1. Re: merging alpha masks
          Michael L Hale Level 5

I am trying to understand what you want to do. There are couple of ways to combine the masks into one. But I'm not sure how you want to merge the layers. Unless you apply each layer's mask as you merge( in which case you don't need to remask ) the final merged layer will not look the same as the 10 masked layers even with the new combined mask.

• 2. Re: merging alpha masks
            ishook187 Level 1

I think what I would do (and I'm no expert) is to use actions to bring the individual masks to the non-mask area, by cutting and pasting them from the alpha to the proper layers. Change the layer type of either multiply or lighten, depending on your setup, and then copy merge all the masks together, and paste that into whatever layer's alpha you need. All of this should be recorded in an action.

I'm partial to using actions. There might be a fast way to do it with scripts.

• 3. Re: merging alpha masks
              oscar060384 Level 1

I essentially want to do a merge down.  But the thing is, when I do a merge down the layer itself gets merged perfectly fine but only the lower layer's alpha is kept (that is if I click the "preserve" option).

• 4. Re: merging alpha masks
                thebestcpu Level 1