8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2011 5:45 PM by Declan.

Mouse over effects? Help please.

Declan.

Hey guys.

I am a Trainee Web Designer. I have done a few major projects for websites and stuff using alot of Adobe Programs but i have this job where i need to make a map of a school with rollover mouse effects.

So when the mouse rolls over the Admin Building on the map, a large picture of the Admin Building comes up. Then when the mouse is moved away the images closes. I need to do that with about 8 images.

I have one main image which is an arial of the school, then there is different sections that i need to make 'active'

How can i go about doing this? i have looked for tutorials for ages now but they are either outdated or too advanced for me, i just need a tutorial that can show me how to achieve my goal. i cotton onto things very quickly so i dont get lost unless things get too advanced or there is a lack of explanation.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I will be happy to supply more information if you need me to,

Thanks in advance,

Declan

• 1. Re: Mouse over effects? Help please.
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What you probably want to do is create invisible buttons that you place over the main image.  These will provide the rollover triggering that you want.  To make invisible buttons you can create button symbols that only have a shape in their "Hit" frames.  That creates a button that you can still see while editing but do not appear in the published file when you run it.

Then you need to have an image that rolling over that button will bring into view.  It would be preferable to have the images that appear be away from the buttons so that they don't interfere/block the buttons, so each larger image may have to be placed in a different area.