1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 5, 2011 9:23 PM by Flex harUI

Asking about Modules

D Baron

Hi Folks,

I asked a question or two about module-in-a-module loading in combination with interfaces recently and was fortunate to get some great help.  Now I'd like to ask more about modules.  I am new to the Flex universe and am trying to find my ‘sea legs’ so to speak in regards to large, complex application development using Flex and ActionScript.  The products appear to be tremendously powerful and flexible, which is truly inspiring.  Then again… I am currently near the bottom of the learning curve, and thus am looking to those who know to help me figure things out.

To begin with, the “loading” and “displaying” of modules seems to involve several steps (using ModuleManager) and I would just like to know a bit more about the details of the process.  For example, consider the following code (from within an application mxml):

public var _modInfo:IModuleInfo;

private function loadModule_1():void {

_modInfo = ModuleManager.getModule("Module_1.swf");

_modInfo.addEventListener(ModuleEvent.READY, ModEventHandler);          

_modInfo.load(new ApplicationDomain(ApplicationDomain.currentDomain), null, null, moduleFactory);

}

private function ModEventHandler(e:ModuleEvent):void

{

myNavigatorContent.addElement(_modInfo.factory.create() as IVisualElement);

}

In this example, the public var _modInfo is of type IModuleInfo.   It is scoped to the ‘application’ at this point, i.e., is not a local variable.  Let’s say that Module_1.swf is a 100K module.   After calling the ModuleManager.getModule() method, what exactly is put “into” the _modInfo variable?   Does it, or will it contain 100K of “stuff”?  Or is a pointer to some other memory structure that in turn uses the load() method to tell Flex to ‘download and receive the specified file’?