5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2011 1:59 PM by Mike Blaustein

Director on Web

kapelski Level 1

Hello Everyone,

Please excuse my lack of intelligence on the matter, as I have never worked with Director before.  I am trying to find out what I need to do in order to play a director game online, or if that is even possible.  The story goes,

A friend of mine created a full scale educational game using director about a year ago.  The inention was to have the final product be placed via exe file on a CD and then sell the CDs to people at conventions.  The program received great responses at the conventions, but lets face it, selling CDs limits your buyers.  In an effort to increase sales he wants to make the game playable online.  Where people can just go to a website and play it like any normal flash game today.

Is this possible to do without remaking his entire game in Flash?  The game is of a fairly large size and we are talking most likely thousands to have it all remade in flash.  The game involves a database to track the children's progress if that makes any difference.

Look forward to hearing from everyone!

kapelski

• 1. Re: Director on Web
          Mike Blaustein Level 4

If you open the source file in Director, you can publish the program as shockwave instead of (or in addition to) an executable.  Shockwave will play in a browser. It may be just that easy.

Of course it depends very much on how the program was made, what xtras it uses, etc... some commands and xtras are not shockwave safe, so if they are used, the program wont work without some recoding to work around these limitations.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Director on Web
            kapelski Level 1