3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2011 1:03 AM by Dave Merchant

How to set Bookmark Panel shown by default when page is loaded?

accca

Hello:

I have a report generated with bookmarks and shown in webpage (.aspx) using Acrobat Reader.

What I need is to show Bookmark panel by default when the webpage is first loaded (instead of user click on the button) and unwrap the long bookmark text.

I am very new to AcrobatReader Javascript API, I am not sure how to access the Reader object and it's Bookmark Panel etc.

Please advise,

Thank you.

• 1. Re: How to set Bookmark Panel shown by default when page is loaded?
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

With Acrobat you can set the initial view to show the bookmarks. This is done by editing the 'properties' of an open PDF.

For a web page hyper link you can can the 'pagemode=bookmarks' parameter.

http://mydocs/doc.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks

You can even add an document level JavaScript action to use the undocumented 'pane' property to open the bookmark navigation pane.

this.pane = "bookmarks";

• 2. Re: How to set Bookmark Panel shown by default when page is loaded?
            accca Level 1

Thank you so much GKaiseril for your response.

I need to make my request clearer:

the report it is not a PDF doc, (i.e with a .pdf extension), it is dynamically generated by ActiveReports engine, it displays in ActiveReports WebViewer control, and this WebViewer control has set to shown report in AcrobatReader.

this report is over 100 pages long, so it is very important to have Bookmarks panel shown by default to users (these Bookmarks serves like a Table of Contents.)

so I guess this

http://mydocs/doc.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks

not apply to my case, because the report is not a static .pdf doc.

so I am wondering how you other suggestion works.

this.pane = "bookmarks";

what is 'this' referring to?  how to access it?

the ActiveReports WebViewer control render to browser as:  (using ViewSource from the Browser)