8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2013 11:20 AM by sdaponte

Video cropping and zooming issue

Thrawn_007

I'm new to this product and couldn't find my specific issue (or at least didn't recognize it).

I was using downloaded video to make a simple music video (to experiment with on the trial version).  So I have the first clip in the sequence and then I add a second clip and after working with it for a few minutes notice that in the sequence viewer the video is enlarged and the sides are cropped so I'm only seeing an enlarged picture of the center.  The zoom was still on fit though.  I don't understand why the video was automatically zoomed and cropped by Premiere and when I delete the clip and put it back in it does the same.

Any insight?

The first clip in the video  was a  640 x 360  While the second video was 1280 x 720 and both had square pixels (1.0)

They were however both WMVs.

• 1. Re: Video cropping and zooming issue
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

The fact that the Zoom level is set to Fit means that the view in the Program Monitor is zoomed to fit the panel, not that the clip is scaled to fit the sequence.

If your second clip is larger than the first, and you place the second clip into a sequence that is sized for the first, then you are naturally only going to see a piece (such as the cropped center in your case) unless you scale the second clip down. Or use a bigger sequence.

If you want the clip to automatically be scaled to fit the sequence, then you can turn on the Default Scale To Frame Size preference. (See this for a video explanation of that preference.)

In general, you scale with the Scale property of the Motion effect, not with the Zoom setting in the panel.

• 2. Re: Video cropping and zooming issue
            Colin Brougham Level 6

The first clip in the video  was a  640 x 360  While the second video was 1280 x 720 and both had square pixels (1.0)