4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2011 10:59 AM by jlanpheer

How to dynamically set a form property based on control clicked.

jlanpheer Level 1

I am relatively new to Flex and am trying to add functionality to an existing application.  My basic scenario is this:

I have an application where a user can enter search criteria which in turn, pulls matching data into a DataGrid.  The user can (1) press a "Create" button which pulls up a new form which allows a new record to be entered or (2) press a custom control button (of which there is one for every row in the DataGrid) which basically is an "Update" button which pulls up the same form, but populates the form with data from the DataGrid plus some.

My business problem is simple:  One of the columns on the called form needs to be set to "readonly" if the control in #2 above is pressed (no updates allowed) or "enterable" if the "Create" button was pressed as in #1 above.

I need some guidance into how to do this.  Basically, just before the entry/update form is presented to the user, i need to send a message to the form that is about to be displayed somehow that says:  "Hey, i am inserting!" or "Hey, i am updating!".  Both of the above controls already have their own separate clickHandler functions.  If you know of an example tutorial which illustrates how this would be done, i would appreciate it if you could point it out to me.

cheers!

Jim Lanpheer

• 1. Re: How to dynamically set a form property based on control clicked.
          drkstr_1 Level 4

You could do this a million different ways. It really depends on your current set up. Here is a basic example of one possible solution.

[Bindable]
          public var isNew:Boolean

<s:TextInput editable="{this.isNew}" />

You would then set isNew to true or false according to the situation.

Give more info (and code!) if you want an answer specific to your situation.

• 2. Re: How to dynamically set a form property based on control clicked.