6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 14, 2011 12:17 PM by the_wine_snob

NanoFlash audio files on the timeline

CAOLSEN Level 1

Hello,

I am new to the MXF format and have been working mainly with HDV and AVCHD files.

I am interested in buying a Nanoflash and have downloaded the sample file from the CD website.

I have the 1080i60 files.

I have the current version of CS5, and when I inport these clips using the correct XDCAM settings, a place them on the timeline,

the audio portion goes down to the Audio Track number 9.  I am use to the audio track being right next to the video track or in the Audio 1 track.

Question:  Am I doing something wrong or is this normal for MXF files?

The clip plays fine, but having the audio down on Track 9 is wierd for me.

Any advice or help is appreciated.

~ Rookie

• 1. Re: NanoFlash audio files on the timeline
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Rookie,

Audio is placed on the first audio track available with that format, and if it is not available a new one is created.

Say you have 5 stereo tracks and 3 5.1 tracks in your sequence and add mono sound, a new mono track will be created as track 9. Check the icon at the beginning of the audio track to see whether it is stereo, mono, 5.1 by the speaker setting indicated.

• 2. Re: NanoFlash audio files on the timeline
            CAOLSEN Level 1

Thanks Harm for the reply but this isn't the case, at least I don't

think it is. The audio track from CD is stereo, it shows a left and right.

I cannot move that audio track either, it's stuck on track nine.  When I try to move it the video portion moves with it.

That is probably a seperate issue...I'm not real skilled with CS5 yet.

I thought I read in another post too where the audio from the NanaFlash was showing up on 9.

I find this a bit strange having 8 empty audio tracks between the Video and audio.

Weird.  Is anyboby else experiencing this with the Nanoflash sample files?

• 3. Re: NanoFlash audio files on the timeline