3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2011 6:37 PM by the_wine_snob

Audio Syncing Problems

mikec82 Level 1

I am a wedding videographer who has a few months ago switched from FCP to PrPro CS5. I am currently working on a wedding ceremony where I am experiencing some audio sync issues. I filmed the wedding with 3 high def cameras. The video was all filmed in 29.97 HDV, with 48000khz 32 bit audio. Additionally, I used lapel microphones for both the groom and the officiate, each recording to a device in WMA format. I used "free mp3 wma converter" (which may be part of the problem!) to convert the WMA to 480000khz 32-bit WAV files. After using HDV Split to make sure there were no breaks, I imported/captured everything into Premiere CS5. Once I dropped everything into the timeline, I located the part in each audio layer where the officate says "Thank you, you may be seated". I created unnumbered markers at the precise frame that begins, and all 3 video layers and 5 audio layers became synced. However, when I scroll further down the timeline, something has gone out of whack and I don't know whether its the video w/ audio layers, or if it's WMA files that I converted to WAV. Any help would be tremendous!

• 1. Re: Audio Syncing Problems
          the_wine_snob Level 9

There are several threads on using a separate Audio recorder, and the OOS issues. Much discussion has ensured by a few of us "old-timers,"who bemoaned how things used to be, when the cine camera was tethered to the Nagra, and one could set up either to provide the crystal sync, but that does not seem possible today with our great digital equipment. Ought to be easy, but there is a difference in the "clocks" used.

Hope I get this right, as I blew it last thread - one user with Zoom Audio recorder found that the Audio drifted by 100.3%, so just used the Time Stretch Tool w/ Maintain Pitch to adjust that. This took experimentation, but when he found the correct %, it fixed everything.