7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2011 11:57 AM by A.T. Romano

processor speed for HDV/Blu-ray in PE9

Owl Boy Level 1

Hello All

First post for me.

I just purchased Premiere Elements 9. I loaded it on my current computer, where it limps along. (2 GHz processor). However, I am in the act of getting a new box.

My question is - I see the following spec for PE9:

2GHz or faster processor with SSE2 support; 3GHz processor required for HDV or Blu‐ray

But when I look at new computers, even many expensive gaming packages do not have as much as 3 GHz. The standard seems to be 2.8 GHz.Would anyone care to comment on this specification? I am new to video processing....maybe I shouldn't worry about HDV (I am mainly interested in making videos for youtube and to burn to DVD).

Thanks much -

Owl Boy

• 1. Re: processor speed for HDV/Blu-ray in PE9
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Processor: Intel Core i7 950 3.06GHz (Quad Core)

Minimum TWO hard drives, THREE are better

Since Premiere Elements is 32bit, you don't need 64bit Windows 7 - Win7 32bit with 4Gig ram will work

But, if you are ever going to upgrade to Premiere Pro, you want Win7 64bit Pro and 12Gig or 24Gig of ram

• 2. Re: processor speed for HDV/Blu-ray in PE9
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

I agree with John T. A fast i7 will make editing of HD material much nicer, and especially so, if one is using AVCHD material.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: processor speed for HDV/Blu-ray in PE9
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Hunt

Based on what this user has posted here and elsewhere, the user appears to want to know (in the real world) if editing HDV is possible at all in Premiere Elements 9 especially or Premiere Elements in general if the processor clock speed is less than 3 GHz and does not meet the blanket pronouncement in the Adobe System Requirements.