16 Replies Latest reply on Nov 20, 2006 9:38 AM by Mister Peanut

Good Actionscript books for beginners

Simulacrum_
      Hey all,

I became a Flash user about 3 months ago. I am still very much a beginner, but I am working my butt off to become an expert. Unfortunately I am not able to take face to face classes on Flash and Actionscript, so the only course of action I am left with is to work my way through tutorials.

Please share with me the titles of books or resources that helped teach you Actionscript or intermediate Flash, so that I can study them as well. I have no previous coding experience, so more basic is better.

Thanks a bunch for any help!
        • 1. Re: Good Actionscript books for beginners
          funkysoul Level 4
          Personally I think that the "Training from the Source" books fits best for beginners-intermediate users. Later on you can jump on books like Actionscript animation by FOE.

• 2. Re: Good Actionscript books for beginners
            Level 7
            funkysoul wrote:
            > Personally I think that the "Training from the Source" books fits best for beginners-intermediate users.

The Training from the Source ActionScript books are good. Another book
            that you might like to consider is "Foundation ActionScript for Flash 8"
            (friends of ED). Disclaimer: I was one of the authors, so am biased.
            However, it's the fourth edition of a book originally written by Sham
            Bhangal, which has proved very popular over the years. It takes you from
            zero knowledge to a high intermediate level. More information on my
            website ( http://foundationphp.com/flash8_as/).

--
            David Powers
            Adobe Community Expert
            Author, "Foundation PHP for Dreamweaver 8" (friends of ED)
            http://foundationphp.com/
            • 3. Good Actionscript books for beginners
              Simulacrum_ Level 1
              quote: