6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 21, 2011 3:33 PM by jlanpheer

How to customize a null value in a DataGrid.

jlanpheer

Hi-

I'm new to Flex and learning, so bear with me....  I have constructed a DataGrid based on a dataProvider and have gotten it to the point where the DataGrid is populating data correctly.  Now to the details of presentation......  There are numeric values in my grid, some currency like this:

<fx:DataGridColumn dataField="THIS_AMOUNT" headerText="Amount" headerWordWrap="true" textAlign="right" formatString="currency(2)" />

and others are just a plain ol' number like (this value is a "NUMBER" in the database):

<mx:DataGridColumn dataField="CYCLE_NUMBER" headerText="Cycle Number" headerWordWrap="true" width="75" editable="false"/>

The problem is that when the AMOUNT field is null (empty) in the database, it displays as "$0.00" in the data grid, which is not desireable and is potentially misleading.  The same for the CYCLE_NUMBER example above, except it displays as '0', again potentially misleading.

I am trying to figure out how to override this behavior and display nothing in the columns of the DataGrid where the values are null (this only seems to be a problem for numeric database values).  I've discovered that there is a nullItemRenderer property to a DataGridColumn, but i'm having a hard time find examples of how it is used and i'm wondering if i am barking up the wrong tree or not.

Could someone please show me a code snippet that shows me how to do this "properly"?  Is nullItemRenderer the way to go, is or there (again) a much simpler solution than that?

cheers and thanx,

jim.

• 1. Re: How to customize a null value in a DataGrid.
          Lee Burrows Level 4

hi

you can use labelFunction to display custom info (in your case, an empty cell). see: http://help.adobe.com/en_US/FlashPlatform/reference/actionscript/3/mx/controls/listClasses /ListBase.html#labelFunction

eg: