2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 10, 2007 6:51 PM by hylim

Complex database display for Datagrid

hylim
      Hi to all,

I am new to Flex (& Web GUI design).
      I am trying (unsuccessfully) to develop a display that monitors the condition of items at different locations in the form of a datagrid.
      The database system provided to me basically use a "many-to-many" relationship to store the data:
      1. Table Item: item_id
      2. Table Appl: appl_id, location_name
      3. Item-Appl Mapping Table: maps item_id to appl_id
      Basically, 1 item is being monitored by several Appl at different locations; while 1 Appl can also monitor multiple Items.

In my design, I have to continously query the database to obtain the current condition of the Item, where I try to obtain the following information:
      Notification table: item_id, Appl_id, Time, Type
      ; where Type indicates the change in the Item (item_id) condition at location (Appl_id).
      Based on this query, i need to update the item status on the Datagrid

The main issue here is:
      1. How do I design the dataProvider for the dataGrid (Item vs Location)
      - I have to dynamically create the dataGrid Column since the location can be dynamically changed/added/removed from the database.
      My dataGrid should look like this :
      Item "A" "B" "C"
      M X O O
      N O O X
      R O O O

"A","B", "C" are Location names; which are user-inputs & I do not have any information about it beforehand. I have to obtain this locations from the location_name in Appl Table.
      The X,O indicates the condition of the Item.

Has anyone done something similar to this before & point me to the right direction?

Many thanks,

Regards,
      hy
        • 1. Re: Complex database display for Datagrid
          ntsiii Level 3