12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2017 7:41 AM by Szalam

Memory Allocation Error

mrj7511

I keep getting this message:

After Effects: Memory allocation of 4.0 GB exceeds internal limits. Decrease the memory requirements for the rendering of this frame. (12802). For more information, see www.adobe.com/go/learn_ae_mem (37  ::  58)
        23/01/2011 5:05:34 AM: Finished composition “Comp 1”.

I need to get this project done ASAP i have looked through the forums and online with no real help or at least i cant use the info to fix the issue. What do I need to do to correct this, ive run this now probably 6 times making changes here and there and it gets to the same frame and quits. The frame looks just like everything else with no more or less on the screen with regard to graphics etc and i have been able to render videos before that were similar to this. i am relatively new to the program but i have tried the secret menu and doing a purge. any help would be much appreciated, thanx.

• 1. Re: Memory Allocation Error
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

You need to tell us a lot more about your composition and computer for us to help. In general, you should at least tell what version of After Effects you're using, what operating system you're using, and what kind(s) of source footage you're using.

The error message is telling you that the rendering of that single frame with your current settings requires 4GB, which is more than After Effects can allocate for the rendering of a single frame. You need to decrease the memory demands of this frame. What are the width and height of your composition? What effects are you using? What color bit depth? Is this a complex 3D scene?

• 2. Re: Memory Allocation Error
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant