11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2011 7:09 AM by the_wine_snob

Efficient workflow

scubaduba59

Im am looking for an effiient workflow. Everything is up and running but it is soooo slow in reality. I'm shooting with an Xacti  HD2000. So far I have been shooting at "full-SHQ" 1920x1080 60fps HR. My problem is slow performance in premiere elements running on my MAC. I have got the suggestion to use MPEG Streamclip to convert to a more efficient format and with "intermediate codec" but I don't know how! In the end, I wish to publish to HD TV, mediacenter etc. As it is underwater videos  and I am just a beginner my quality demands are not extreem.  So my questions, What is the best workflow for me? If I should use MPEG Streamclip, what are the right settings in my case? How should I use Organizer? Should I reduce the resolution already in the camera? I have tried to get answers in many different forums but without any luck so far! PS I am using Premiere elements9 DS  Br Bo

• 1. Re: Efficient workflow
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

According to the spec page, the Xacti shoots in AVCHD at 1920x1080 (stereo) in Full HR mode.

When you start your project, you should choose that project setting.

If you've selected the right project settings for your video, when you add the video clips to your timeline there will be no red lines above them.

You don't say what specs your Mac has -- whether its a basic PowerBook, an iMac or a PowerMac -- but it can sure make a difference when working with AVCHD! AVCHD often requires a pretty powerful computer to edit it.

What processor is your Mac running and how much RAM do you have installed?

• 2. Re: Efficient workflow
            the_wine_snob Level 9

I thought that the newer ones did pretty straight-forward AVCHD (H.64), but could well be wrong. I know that the older models caused many issues.

If the material IS fully-compliant AVCHD, then the limiting factor would be CPU.