16 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2011 3:45 PM by tfi productions 44

NEAT VIDEO

Warrior of Rohan Level 1

I have been reading up on this noise reduction program. Looks like you would have to buy two licenses if you want to use it in After Effects and PrPro.  I'm a newbie to video editing so where is the best place to apply the noise reduction since I have both programs?

Thanks

Joe

• 1. Re: NEAT VIDEO
          Pyramid Pyro Level 1

I got this a few months ago and it is incredible. The big thing is the quality it puts out.  Freaking outstanding.  It's a must if your camera starts to get grainy/noisey in less-than-optimal lighting situations.

Yes, you would have to buy two licenses from what I understand if you're using PR and AE.  But if you buy one, you apply it to which ever program is kicking out the final file (I think - that's what I would do).

It kills your render times because it's so "heavy".  That's the only downside.  So you won't be watching or scrubbing footage with it applied (hence my recommedation above).

Overall it is totally worth the expense and increased render time.

Go for it.  I think this is  the only place you can buy it:  http://www.neatvideo.com/purchase.html

Erik

• 2. Re: NEAT VIDEO
            Warrior of Rohan Level 1

Thanks for the reassuring words.  Will download the trial to play around with it.

Where is it better to use, After Effects or PrPro?

Thanks

• 3. Re: NEAT VIDEO
              the_wine_snob Level 9

I do not know the licensing provisions of Neat Video, but use it in PrPro, and Neat Image in PS. As AE has "Grain Removal," not sure how the two would compare. From my interactions with the company, I think that an e-mail will be quickly answered, concerning any licensing issues.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 4. Re: NEAT VIDEO
                Keith_Clark Level 2

holy crap. i just downloaded and fiddled with the demo and this plug-in is brilliant! come this weekend i may have to invest in it as well.

• 5. Re: NEAT VIDEO