3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2011 11:55 AM by Thom Parker

Linking AcroDialogs and stamps

amdibari Level 1

I am very new to all of this scripting in an Adobe environment (or any environment really).

I am trying to create a dynamic stamp to be used by my company when reviewing submittals from contractors.  I need to be able to have (3) text fields that are filled out via user input at the time of placing the stamp, and there is also a list of (6) check boxes that could potentially be checked off, again based upon user input at the time of placing the stamp on the document.

I have downloaded AcroDialogs, and built a wizard that appears to accomplish my goal when using the test button.  The area where I am getting confused is how to link this AcroDialogs script to my stamp, and how to define which answer from the user populates which field on the stamp.

Can anyone provide me with some information (or links to information) on this process?  It seems like this is a common request from folks in the engineering and architectural worlds, but I can't seem to find an easy way to accomplish it.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Aaron

• 1. Re: Linking AcroDialogs and stamps
          Thom Parker Level 3

Have you read this article?  Dynamic Stamp Secrets

It covers hooking a regular response box into a dynamic stamp.  Hooking up the custom dialog is a small variation.  Look towards the bottom of the script generated by AcroDialogs.  There's a "Sample Code" section that shows how the dialog is used and how the input values are both set and retrieved accessed.

BTW: if you are new to scripting, don't use a dialog wizard.  Use a single dialog. It will be much easier to program.

Thom Parker
          The source for PDF Scripting Info
          pdfscripting.com

The Acrobat JavaScript Reference, Use it Early and Often
          http://www.adobe.com/devnet/acrobat/javascript.html

Then most important JavaScript Development tool in Acrobat