6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2011 10:47 AM by the_wine_snob

VHS Transfer and Editing Process

julianelliott Level 1

I am embarking on a project to capture and edit several VHS tapes of my family, eventually creating one or more DVDs of family highlights.   I am interested in experiences others have had in adopting a good workflow.

The first couple of tapes, I previewed and captured a number of separate clips, which I then put into Premiere and will edit further from there.  This was quite timeconsuming, and I found my self spooling thru the analog tapes on VCR several times to mark and capture the clips.

It seems to me it might be much more efficient to capture an entire tape, and then use Premiere to snip out and rename the relevant clips I wish to keep.  Maybe this is obvious to those who've done this, but I am a bit new to this.  Don't want to get a huge number of hours invested, and then find I've hit a wall.

I've got a 2TB drive dedicated to this task, so I assume I have capacity to deal with full tapes.  It's an external USB 2.0 drive.

Thanks for your help.

• 1. Re: VHS Transfer and Editing Process
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You are not going to be happy with a USB drive... the transfer rate is too slow for anything but backup storage

You need internal Sata or external eSata

• 2. Re: VHS Transfer and Editing Process
            N9JCR Level 2

The first step is getting the video into your PC.  It sounds like you have a way of doing that already, but for example I use a Pyro A/V Link to connect my old VHS player to the Firewire port.  I've had very good success with that, not sure if they are still sold or not.  At this point, you have DV file to work with, which is what PE works best with.

To your specific question, I always copy the whole tape as one file.  I find it much easier to paste the sections you want into the timeline then it is to do the start/stop/rewind routine on the player. 

Hope that helps!

Bob