12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 7, 2011 4:07 AM by dradeke

Desperate help needed! AVCHD / Sony HDR CX550 - massive files

Lenihh

Dear Friends,

I am new to premier pro and to my new sony camera the hdr cx550 and I am struggling to work out a few vital things that are making my life hell so please please please help!

1) Camera: I have to select a record mode (all files are AVCHD) my options are HD HQ (AVCHD 9M), HD FH (AVCHD 17M) or HD LP (AVCHD 5M). What's really frustrating is that's all it says, I have no indication of frame size or anything - apart from under the HD FH option where in brackets it says (1920x1080)!

2) So when it comes to choosing my project my sequence presets I am seriously screwed! There are so many options for AVCHD - could someone advise which 'record mode' to choose followed by what 'sequence preset' I should use with that record mode. I am at the end of my teather here!

3) Then comes the last most painful part of my recent traumas. At the moment I have been randomly selecting - just chosing whatever 'sequence preset' that happends to take my fancy at that moment!! But when I go to export the video I have massive problems! What I want to do is export a video to a HD qulaity suitable for youtube, so no need for the massive Frame sizes of 1080 etc recommended by the sequence presets. In the export window I cannot change the frame size! So I am left with an .avi file which always huge.....Well over a gig - and you can imagine my upload time! (3 hrs and more!) Currently I am just encoding the videos but the quality looks blooming rubbish!

So all I want to know really is what record mode i should use with what 'sequence preset' - and how to export to a smaller file size.

Thanks and I'd really really appreciate any help you can give me

• 1. Re: Desperate help needed! AVCHD / Sony HDR CX550 - massive files
          dradeke Adobe Employee