10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2011 5:58 AM by digitlman

Why does making a DVD (Encore) from Premiere Pro ruin my footage?

RFDPiper Level 1

Hi,

This is my first time using Adobe video products, and I'm trying to put my video on DVD. I'm using Adobe Production Premium CS5.

The video itself was filmed with a Canon Vixia HG20 AVCHD cancorder. The camera records at 1920x1080 using MPEG-4 AVC/H.264 compression (by the way, I don't know what any of that means). I know that there a lot of presets (AVCHD, DV-NTSC, HDV, etc), and I've tried them all (I also don't know what they mean).

The problem I'm having is that when I try to play them back after buring a DVD, the video is of such horrible quality that it looks like the footage was filmed using a 10yr old cell phone (no joke!).

All I'm doing is:
      -Opening Premiere Pro
      -Selecting one of the presets (I've tried a bunch of diferent ones)
      -Importing my footage
      -Using Dynamic Link to send it to Encore
      -Then making the DVD in Encore

Then when I try it out on my big HD TV, the quality is absolute GARBAGE.

What can I do?
        • 1. Re: Why does making a DVD (Encore) from Premiere Pro ruin my footage?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Well, the first thing to address is the Sequence Preset.In CS5, Import your footage into the Project Panel, and drag the first Clip to the New Icon, to let PrPro set the Sequence Preset. That will get you started with what you are producing.

Next, if you are down-rezzing to SD (Standard Def) from HD (High Def) material, the quality WILL go down, from what you see in HD.

Then, if you are judging that quality on a computer with a high-rez monitor, it will never look good. One should judge SD material on a calibrated CRT monitor. The next best test is to produce a DVD, and play it on an up-rezzing BD player to an HD TV, if that is your target audience.