9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2011 10:09 PM by Jess 2011

Build Review Please

Jess 2011

I am a first time builder and have been studying this forum (great contributors here) for guidance on building a CS5 Premiere compatible system.  The components (my proposed system below)  are familiar as much has been gleaned from proposed systems from others.

I initially ran eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Pro v 2.5 using a 750W power supply but was right up against the limit.  I wanted to leave a bit of room for an additional hard drive or two in the future as well as another 12Gb of memory so it put me up to an 850W PSU.

In addition to the advice given on this board I read “Building the Perfect PC” (O’Reilly) 2011 edition and their editing system build is similar to suggested builds on this board.  It seems like a good resource – especially for a first timer like me.

A couple questions – it looks like the i7 comes with a heat sink and fan, yet builders are including aftermarket CPU fans in their builds – are the included fans inadequate/noisy/problematic?  Also, I see several competing brands for the video card, is MSI a better build than others?

Please look over the list below and advise if you see any incompatibilities (like does the PSU fit in the case).

COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Computer Case With Side Panel Window

CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W Power Supply

ASUS Sabertooth X58 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i7-950 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor

Noctua NF-P12-1300 CPU Cooler and Case Fan

(3) CORSAIR Vengeance 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory

MSI GeForce GTX 470 (Fermi) N470GTX Twin Frozr II Video Card

Boot - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F4 320GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

(3) SAMSUNG Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

SAMSUNG Black Blu-ray Drive SATA Model SH-B123L LightScribe Support

Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders