3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2011 9:09 AM by the_wine_snob

Removing microphone crackle noise from a video

mspsc

Hi there,

Please could anyone offer some advice on how to remove a "crackly" noise from my video?  The "crackle" appears to have come from the microphone that was clipped to a shirt, and as the speaker moved, the microphone picked up and recorded the scraping noise!

I have had a go with the audio effects in Premiere Elements, but haven't had any luck removing the noise, unless the sound gets distorted.  I am new to Premiere Elements but have a gut feeling that I will probably need to re-record the speaker again.  I thought I would ask the question, just in case there was some method I haven't found / understand yet.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Removing microphone crackle noise from a video
          RadioNOfficial

I'm also new to elements...

but I do produce music, so I guess what would be better for you is use a sound editing program and control the noise with a "Gate" effect

which will be as a "gate way" to what will go in the sound and what will stay out..

thats what I use while recording My singer to leave the background noise out of the recording...

hope it will help you some how...

I do hope that there is a simple way in Premiere Elements...

• 2. Re: Removing microphone crackle noise from a video
            nealeh Level 5

There are 23 Audio Effects in PRE9. The Denoiser and the NewBlue effects may be of help.

2.png

The Dynamics effect includes a 'Gate' checkbox - is that what you're looking for?

1.png

Cheers,
            --
            Neale
            Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 3. Re: Removing microphone crackle noise from a video
              the_wine_snob Level 9

From within PrE, I think that you have gotten good advice. The ability to remove transients from Audio is a bit limited in a video-editor, and can take a lot of experimenting.