5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 3, 2011 2:25 PM by MissionBuilders

Am I missing anything?  Big project starting...

MissionBuilders

First, I am new to PP.  I have almost 20 years in music production and recording and 10 years with Pro Tools.  My video editing experience is limited to consumer oriented programs thus far.  I'm on the board of a non-profit and we are producing a documentary about an orphanage in Mexico that we work with.  I have a ton of raw footage that was shot on Panasonic HVX200s.  We also have a ton of old home videos of various quality and I am shooting additional footage with an AVCHD camera, with Brevis35 and a variety of 35mm lenses.  Needless to say, I have a lot of reading and a lot of learning to really take advantage of everything that CS5 Production Premium has to offer.

My workstation consists of:

Windows 7, 64-bit Professional

Core i7 quad core, 3.35MHz

Quadro 4000 video card

12 gigs ram

250 gig system drive

250 gig spare drive

2x 1tb media drives in a raid 0 configuration

We received a Matrox MXO2 for capturing the standard material as well as use with a client monitor.  I am still trying to determine the best way to begin but is this system going to slow me down too much?  We are having a second PC workstation built for audio production so I could very easily upgrade the ram in this machine.

I am dying to get started with some smaller mixed media test projects to see how well things will go.  All of the existing P2 was transferred to a 500 gig WD passport and the AVCHD will be transferred to HDD as well.  We have NeoScene from CineForm for converting the AVCHD to AVI as I was told that it would be easier to work with.

In any case, I am no doubt going to be a presence on here while I discover everything I don't know, which will probably be a lot!  Input and comments welcome.

• 1. Re: Am I missing anything?  Big project starting...
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

You seem to have a pretty good computer system.