4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2011 10:15 AM by skizophrenic

2D image in middle of rotating 3d object?

skizophrenic

Hello everyone! I'm new to after effects so this might be obvious or impossible, idk, but I'm making a scene in cinema 4d that involves many objects rotating around the surface of a sphere and I wanted to replace that sphere with 2d effects that I'll make in AE. The problem lies in the layering, how do I make the 2d image appear as if it is in the middle of all the rotating objects instead of in front or behind?

• 1. Re: 2D image in middle of rotating 3d object?
          skizophrenic Level 1

Okay, I've made some progress. What I've done is render a seperate object buffer for the sphere and the rotating objects, made the sphere completely transparent, and set it up like this:

rotating object buffer (hidden)

sphere buffer (hidden)

2d image (luma matte "sphere buffer")

full rendered image

I used text as a placeholder (for the 2d image I'll add later) and it seems to be working as intended except the text's brightness flashes. I looked at it frame by frame and the flashes do not correspond with any of the objects passing in front of or behind the text, it just flashes randomly...

• 2. Re: 2D image in middle of rotating 3d object?
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I looked at it frame by frame and the flashes do not correspond with any of the objects passing in front of or behind the text,