2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2011 9:41 AM by the_wine_snob

Need help on limited hardware environment

fyddeye Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to Premiere and I've downloaded and installed Elements 9. My company wants to produce brief promotional videos for YouTube, and I have to work on a Lenovo laptop with a Pentium Dual CPU T3400 2.16GHZ, 3MB of RAM, and Vista Home Premium. I believe this meets the minimum specs, though I know that a laptop is not optimal.

As you can probably guess, I've got severe performance issues, but I'm stuck with the laptop because of company budget constraints. I had to pull teeth to get it, if you know what I mean.

I transferred video in AVCHD format to the laptop, and editing it is almost impossible because of the performance problems: skipping, jerky motion, etc.

I'm looking for some system settings or other advice that might help.

Also, would transcoding the video to standard def help? That would be fine for web video.  If so, does Adobe have an application that can transcode?

I can probably get an external hard drive, but I'm unsure about whether this will help. I'm pretty sure that the laptop has a USB 2.0 port, but is data transfer an issue? If so, any suggestions?

Thank you very much in advance for your ideas.

Fyddeye

• 1. Re: Need help on limited hardware environment
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Convert AVCHD to HDV http://forums.adobe.com/thread/390605?tstart=0
          or use Cineform Neo Scene http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

USB is too slow for video editing, and you need AT LEAST two 7200rpm hard drives

Read Harm on drive setup http://forums.adobe.com/thread/662972?tstart=0
          - click the embedded picture in Harm's message to enlarge to reading size
          - you need AT LEAST 2 drives for video editing, 3 is better

Trying to use only ONE Hard Drive for Video Editing