3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2011 4:28 AM by Pablo Souza

Understanding objects relations one-to-many and many-to-many with flex4

pbesi Level 1

Hello, I'm a newbie on Flex 4.

I read several examples and also the "one week training". What I couldn't find is how to manage relations among objects.

I understood that objects coming from the server must be translated to value objects.

Because I'm working with Spring, Hibernate and BlazeDS, I've several beans and relations defined with the annotations @OneToMany and @ManyToMany. These relations are managed using List, Set and Map objects.

More precisaly, I've to create a flex datagrid, each row is an "author" objects. Cliccking a row, I need to load some other related objects (let's call them "documents").

Auhtor and Documents objects are in a one-to-many relation.

My questions are:

1) Which is the correct way to handle related objects in Flex? This questions arise from the fact that there are two ways in order to manage such objects. The first is to load the parent object and them call related method in order to get child. For example author.getDocuments(). I get all the related objects (author+ all his documents) with just one call, the one to load the "author" object. BlazeDS doesn't support lazy loading.

The second way, is to provide the parent ID to a method that loads the related objects. For example getDocuments(authorID). I need to make a query for each ID

Obviously, the value objects we have to create with AS are different. In the first case, the author VO will have a ArrayCollection in order to manage documents.In the second case I'll not create this property.

2) In Flex, which is the best way? is it possible to manage objects (documents) of objects (authors) with MXML?

3) More in general, Flex experts people, what are used to do? Where I can find an example?

Thank you

Paolo

• 1. Re: Understanding objects relations one-to-many and many-to-many with flex4
          Pablo Souza Level 3