26 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2011 10:26 AM by chriswillis100

Custom Colorpicker

chriswillis100 Level 1

Hey guys,

I'm quite new to flex and i'm using an SDK that provents me from using the mx:colorpicker function

What is the best way to go about making a simple one?

Basically what i need it to do is look and act like a normal colorpicker (press the colorpicker button and the pallet slides out), but i only need 12 boxes for the colors (about 35x35)

Can someone explain the simplest way of doing this

Thanks

Chris

• 1. Re: Custom Colorpicker
          miguel8312 Level 3

simplest way is to use the 3.5 sdk. why not do that... is there a reason your app must be on 4,0? you can also just import the mx: namespace into your app and then it should be available to you.

Miguel

Message was edited by: miguel8312

• 2. Re: Custom Colorpicker
            chriswillis100 Level 1

Because i'm using a Mobile Project, so i need to use flex hero because 3.5 doesn't support mobile projects

• 3. Re: Custom Colorpicker
              miguel8312 Level 3

I just did this using sdk 4 and it worked like a charm...

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
              <s:Application xmlns:fx="http://ns.adobe.com/mxml/2009"
                    xmlns:s="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/spark"
                    xmlns:mx="library://ns.adobe.com/flex/mx" minWidth="955" minHeight="600">
              <fx:Declarations>
                <!-- Place non-visual elements (e.g., services, value objects) here -->
              </fx:Declarations>

<mx:ColorPicker>

</mx:ColorPicker>
              </s:Application>

• 4. Re: Custom Colorpicker
                chriswillis100 Level 1

I think you're misunderstanding me,

I'm using an SDK that wont allow me to use flex 3.5 in a mobile application

Here's the error message

The prefix "mx" for element "mx:ColorPicker" is not bound

• 5. Re: Custom Colorpicker
                  robglobal

You're missing the namespace that defines what "mx" means: