2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2011 10:28 AM by jumpyg2

Copy a title, then "unlink" it from the original

jumpyg2 Level 1

Hi folks, I'm fairly new to Premiere Elements 9 for Mac. I went through a four-hour video tutorial on another site, so I'm down with the basics.

I'm experimenting with having title text "drop in" using the Text Animation effect. The trick is, I want the text to linger where it is at the end of the animation for a couple seconds. If I stretch out the title, that of course just makes the animation move more slowly. So I got the idea to copy the title and paste it right behind the animated title in the timeline. Then I turned off the Text Animation effect on my new title. This turned it off on BOTH titles, though! I can see why this would be a useful feature, but is there a way to "unlink" them so that the titles can be edited separately? Or another way to do what I'm trying to do?

I also tried renaming the second title to see if that would break the link, but that didn't work, either.

Thanks much for any help!

----------------------------------

By the way, for people having trouble with PE9--I have a new Macbook that had 4GB of RAM and PE9 crashed all the time. I upgraded to 8GB for only $100, and no more crashes, ever. Very pleased with it now.

• 1. Re: Copy a title, then "unlink" it from the original
          the_wine_snob Level 9

For what you describe, I would not use the Animation Presets, but instead Keyframe the fixed Effect>Motion>Position. With Keyframes, you can set the exact speed, and Velocity, of the animation, plus you can pause it, where ever, and for however long you wish.